Our Story

St John Lutheran Church of Atwater, Minnesota is part of The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod (LCMS or Synod).  The LCMS is a mission-oriented and Bible-based denomination that confesses the historic, orthodox Christian faith in the Triune God, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, a faith built on "the foundation of the apostles and prophets , Christ Jesus himself being the cornerstone" (Eph . 2:20).  With the universal Christian Church, The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod teaches and responds to the love of the Triune God, who created all that exists; became man to suffer, die, and rise again for the world's redemption; and brings people to faith and new life through His Word and Sacraments.  The three persons of the Trinity - Father, Son, and Holy Spirit - are coequal and coeternal, one God.  

  • Est in 1871
  • Located just north of City of Atwater in Harrison Township, Kandiyohi County
  • We believe in the Unaltered Augsburg Confession